The Wire / Sports

The Rugby World Cup 2023 - What You Need to Know

Posted 13 Oct 2022

It’s a huge 18 months for rugby fans. The two day Rugby Sevens World Cup in South Africa saw 457 tries scored in front of 105,000 fans. This winter, the rescheduled Rugby League World Cup comes to England, and people are clamouring for rugby league tickets to see if Australia can claim a 12th title, or if the home nations can bring the trophy North of the equator.

But the highlight of the calendar, regardless of code, is set to be the 2023 Rugby World Cup. 20 teams from every corner of the globe will be challenging for the Webb Ellis Cup.

Here’s what you need to know before you buy rugby world cup tickets.

Where is the 2023 Rugby World Cup Being Held?

The tenth rugby world cup is being held in France. A rugby union stronghold, France saw off bids from Italy, Argentina and the USA to secure the tournament - which is good news for British fans who only need to take a short trip over the channel to see their teams in action.

The final will take place in Paris’ Stade de France, with other games held in Marseille, Lyon, Lille, Bordeaux, Toulouse, Nice, Nantes and Saint-Etienne. 

Teams will travel around the country, instead of each group having a set host city, meaning ticket holders will be able to enjoy a great trip around France, bumping into fans from all over the world.

Who’s Playing?

Twenty teams will compete for the Webb Ellis Cup (named after the inventor of the game), split into four groups from which the top two teams will progress to the quarter finals.

Nineteen teams have already qualified, with the final qualifier to be determined at a mini-qualification tournament which takes place in Dubai this November. The teams in contention for this final spot are Hong Kong, Kenya, Portugal and the USA. 

The nineteen teams who’ve already booked their spots in France are as follows:

Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Uruguay, Namibia

Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Tonga, Romania

Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Georgia, TBC.

Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Samoa, Chile

England seem to have the most favourable draw of the home nations, while Scotland will be hoping either Ireland or South Africa slip up. Meanwhile Wales will expect to qualify from their group along with Australia.

Who’s Going to Win?

The beauty of sport means that we obviously don’t know who’ll win. Although this year, experts are looking at two or three teams as potential favourites.

First, there’s South Africa. As the competition’s holders, they have the pedigree and experience to bring home the trophy. 

Secondly, the hosts France are coming off the back of a Grand Slam victory at the Six Nations and feel confident that they’ll be the Northern hemisphere team most likely to challenge the holders.

Australia are always among the favourites at any rugby tournament - league or union - and this time is no different. But New Zealand and England are both teams in transition, meaning that Wales could be in with a chance of a shock result.

Whether you’re looking for South Africa tickets, England tickets, Wales tickets or France tickets, next year’s Rugby World Cup will be one you don’t want to miss!

Back to The Wire Share this

Related articles

  • Fury vs Joshua - Who Wins?...

    04 Nov 2022

  • What Are The UK’s Best Music Venues?...

    27 Oct 2022

  • Party in the UK - What World...

    18 Oct 2022

  • The Rugby World Cup 2023 - What...

    13 Oct 2022

  • Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting: Five British...

    28 Sep 2022

  • The Premier League is Back - Four...

    20 Sep 2022

  • Major Upcoming Boxing Matches in 2022

    15 Sep 2022

  • Time to Push On - How Will...

    07 Sep 2022

  • Five Premier League Games You Can’t Miss...

    01 Sep 2022

  • 2022 sporting events to look out for...

    26 Aug 2022